adsterra.com

Wednesday, 27 September 2017

The following income statements were drawn from the annual reports of the Denver Company and the Reno Company:

The following income statements were drawn from the annual reports of the Denver Company and the Reno Company:
 
  Denver* Reno*
  Net sales $ 34,700   $ 87,400  
  Cost of goods sold   (17,990 )   (63,430 )
  











  Gross margin   16,710     23,970  
  Less: Operating exp.            
     Selling and admin. exp.   (12,240 )   (18,834 )
  











  Net income $ 4,470   $ 5,136  
  




















*All figures are reported in thousands of dollars.

Required
a-1.
Compute the gross margin percentages and return-on-sales ratios of Denver and Reno.
save image



Explanation:
a-1.
Gross Margin Percentages:
Denver: 48% ($16,710 ÷ $34,700)
Reno: 27% ($23,970 ÷ $87,400)

Return-on-Sales Ratios:
Denver: 13% ($4,470 ÷ $34,700)
Reno: 6% ($5,136 ÷ $87,400)

a-2.
Based on the gross margin percentages, Denver is the “high-end retailer.” Denver is obviously marking up the price of merchandise by a greater percentage than Reno.

b.
Return-on-Equity Ratios:
Denver: 29% ($4,470 ÷ $15,200)
Reno: 24% ($5,136 ÷ $21,400)
 
From the viewpoint of the owners, Denver was more profitable.

No comments:

Post a Comment